Yet more work

So I thought I’d imported all my tags from the old place but I see that WP has decided that they’re categories, though having accidentally put a category cloud in the sidebar instead of a tag cloud this isn’t too big a problem right now. It is something else on the list of jobs to do though, and I wonder whether re-importing the old posts might fix it. This is going to have to be done anyway since I’ve just noticed that some of the older posts appear just as titles and the actual post content didn’t make it, which kind of defeats the object of importing them. Bugger it – this is stuff I thought I’d got sorted before I opened the place up. Oh well, pass me that hammer, will you?

UPDATE – Weird. I now notice that a lot of the very old post imported with tags as tags rather than categories, so I do have tags after all. But they don’t seem to show up as clickable tags when posting, or at least not in the same place as the Orphanage. Maybe they will once I start using them.

UPDATE 2 – Nope. The Orphanage has a big tag list below where you post, whereas here I’ve got a facsimile of the tag cloud but only if I click something to get it. Odd. I thought both being WP blogs the UI would be the same. Oh well, learning curves.

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My reader is being engulfed by old posts of yours.

    • Shite. I’m changing a load of tags at the moment because WP has turned them into categories for some reason. Must be something to do with that. I’ll see if I can stop it from happening. The bad news is I had about 400 and something to do and I’ve only got a dozen or so left. Very sorry, mate. Had absolutely no idea that would happen.

